Press Note of 3rd Day of 57th IARI Convocation

On 3rd day (6th February, 2019) of the 57th ICAR –IARI Convocation week (Feb.4-8, 2019) significant post-graduate students' research of the school of social sciences were presented. Dr. (Ms) Alka Singh, Professor of Agricultural Economics, Dr. R.N. Padaria, Professor of Agricultural Extension, Dr. (Ms) Seema Jaggi, Professor of Agricultural Statistics, Dr. A.R. Rao, Professor of Bioinformatics and Dr. Sudeep Marwaha, Professor of Computer Applications presented the salient findings of the school. School of Social Sciences represented research on impact of climate smart technologies on adaptation, resilience and profitability in the IGPs, socio-economic impact of drip irrigation, role of value addition in enhancing farm income, value chain financing, socio-economic analysis of integrated farming system models, designs for incomplete factorial treatments, soil health assessments using spatial statistics etc Dr. P.K. Joshi, Director South Asia, IFPRI, New Delhi chaired the session. Dr S. Naresh kumar, Professor, Environmental Sciences convened the session. Dr. (Ms) Rashmi Aggarwal, Dean & Joint Director (Education) also graced the occasion.

In the afternoon session, lectures were delivered by Dr. Ravish Chatrath, Principal Scientist, IIWBR, the recipients of XXV Hooker Award under the chairmanship of Dr. R.B. Singh, Former Member, National Commission on Farmers, Dr. Dharmendra Singh, Principal Scientist, Division of Genetics, recipient of XVII Dr. B.P. Pal Medal under the chairmanship of Dr. Deepak Pental, Professor, Deptt of Genetics, Delhi University (South Campus), Dr. Shelly Praveen, Head, Division of Biochemistry, IARI recipient of XIX Shri Hari Krishna Shastri Memorial Award under the chairmanship of Dr. Akhilesh Kumar Tyagi, Professor & J C Bose Fellow Delhi University (South Campus) and Dr. M.S. Chauhan, Director, Central Institute of Research on Goats recipient of VII Rao Bhadur B. Vishwanath Award under the chairmanship of Dr. S.A. Patil, Former Director, IARI, New Delhi. Dr. R.K. Singh, Director, IVRI co-chaired the program. Dr. Rashmi Agrawal, Dean & Joint Director (Edu), IARI was the convener of the award lectures.