भा.कृ.अ.प. - भारतीय कृषि अनुसंधान संस्थान | ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute

Seed Science and Technology(SST)      (14 scientists)

Dr Gyan Prakash Mishra


Field of Specialisation : Molecular breeding

Dr Gyan Prakash Mishra

Head, Principal Scientist

M.Sc. : IARI, New Delhi

Ph.D : IARI, New Delhi

Google Scholar

PG School, Faculty Disciplines : Genetics

No. of Students Guided : -    M.Sc :   04

   Ph.D :   03

Top 10 Publications having NAAS rating 6 and above with first or corresponding author only

  1. La H, Ding B, Mishra GP, Zhou B, Yang H, et al. (2011) A 5-methylcytosine DNA glycosylase/ lyase demethylates the retrotransposon Tos17 and promotes its transposition in rice. Proc Nat Acad Sci USA. 108(37):15498-15503. doi:10.1073/pnas.1112704108
  2. Nawade B, Mishra GP*, Radhakrishnan T, Dodia SM, Ahmad S, et al. (2018). High oleic peanut breeding: Achievements, perspectives, and prospects. Trends Food Sci Technol. 78:107- 119. doi:10.1016/j.tifs.2018.05.022
  3. Mishra GP*, Singh B, Seth T, Singh AK, Halder J, et al. (2017). Biotechnological advancements and begomovirus management in okra (Abelmoschus esculentus L.): Status and perspectives. Front. Plant Sci. 8 (360), doi:10.3389/fpls.2017.00360
  4. Nawade B, Bosamia TC, Radhakrishnan T, Mishra GP* (2016) Insights into the Indian peanut genotypes for ahFAD2 gene polymorphism regulating its oleic and linoleic acid fluxes. Front Plant Sci. 7:1271. doi:10.3389/fpls.2016.01271.
  5. Mishra GP, Aski M, Bosamia T, Chaurasia S, Mishra DC, et al. (2022) Insights into the host-pathogen interaction pathways through RNA-Seq analysis of Lens culinaris Medik. in response to Rhizoctonia bataticola infection. Genes 13:90. https://doi.org/10.3390/genes13010090
  6. Mishra GP*, Dikshit HK, Ramesh SV, Tripathi K, et al. (2020). Yellow mosaic disease (YMD) of mungbean (Vigna radiata (L.) Wilczek): Current status and management opportunities. Front. Plant Sci. 11:918. doi:10.3389/fpls.2020.00918
  7. Mishra GP*, Dikshit HK, Kumari J, Priti, et al. (2020) Identification and characterization of novel Penta‐Podded genotypes in the cultivated lentil (Lens culinaris Medik.). Crop Science, https://doi.org/10.1002/csc2.20156
  8. Nawade B, Mishra GP*, Radhakrishnan T, Sangh C, et al. (2019) Development of high oleic peanut lines through marker-assisted introgression of mutant ahFAD2 alleles and its fatty-acid profiles under open-field and controlled conditions. 3Biotech 9:243. doi.10.1007/s13205-019-1774-9
  9. Priti, Mishra GP*, Dikshit HK, Vinutha T, et al. (2021) Diversity in phytochemical composition, antioxidant capacities, and nutrient contents among mungbean and lentil microgreens when grown at plain-altitude region (Delhi) and high-altitude region (Leh-Ladakh), India. Front in Plant Sciences, 12:710812. doi: 10.3389/fpls.2021.710812
  10. Dasgupta U, Mishra GP*, Dikshit HK, Mishra DC, et al. (2021) Comparative RNA-Seq analysis unfolds a complex regulatory network imparting yellow mosaic disease resistance in mungbean [Vigna radiata (L.) R. Wilczek]. Plos One 16(1):e0244593. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0244593

Patent / Technologies / Methodologies / System etc. (Upto Five) :

  1. 11 varieties of Okra, Lentil and mungbean
  1. Prototype of Permafrost Based Germplasm Storage Facility (At DRDO-Leh)
  1. Patents (02): 1. A process for the formation of aerial bulbils in garden onion (Allium cepa L. var. cepa); Patent File No. 59/DEL/2009. 2. A special structure named Vermibreeding House; Patent File No: 391/DEL/2010
  1. Registrations with NBPGR, New Delhi: 08 germplasm lines; Commercialization of germplasm lines: 04
  1. Developed double mutant lines for AhFAD genes for high O/L ratio in groundnut using MAS

Awards / Recognitions / Fellowship (Upto Five) :

  1. 2001: IARI merit medal & Best Student of the Year Award-2001 (MSc); 2009: DRDO-National Science Day Award & Medal
  1. 2010: Fellow-BOYSCAST (University of California, Riverside & Purdue University, USA)
  1. 2013: ISCA-Pran Vohra Award 2012-2013; 2018: NASI-Membership; 2018: ISVS-Dr Harbhajan Singh Memorial Award
  1. 2018: NAAS-Associate; 2020: ICAR-Dr Rajendra Prasad Award; 2021: Fellow-ISGPB
  1. 2021: IARI-Dr Ramnath Singh Award; 2022: ISGPB-Dr Harbhajan Singh Memorial Award; 2024: Fellow-NAAS